Why choose organic and vegan cosmetics?

After reading this guide, you will know:  

  • Hox to recognize organic cosmetic products;

  • The benefits and advantages of organic cosmetic products.

Organic cosmetics: what promises? ✅

Taking care of yourself is essential. This is one of the big lessons we have learned lately. This involves our environment, what we eat and especially what we apply to our skin.

Choosing organic rhymes with quality, naturalness, traceability, healthy ingredients and, as far as possible, local. However, out of habit or ignorance of the benefits of organic on the skin, many women tend to neglect it, and to favor conventional cosmetic products. However, organic cosmetics now offer a very rich and complete range of quality, capable of competing with your favorite foundation or your favorite varnish for years. It has many virtues and could very quickly become essential to your daily routine. Explanations.

🌱 What are organic cosmetics?

An organic cosmetic product is a beauty product made from natural ingredients such as vegetable oils, essential oils or natural waxes, all of which comes largely from organic farming. By favoring these ingredients rather than the chemical active ingredients of conventional cosmetics, organic and natural cosmetics minimizes its impact on the planet, in terms of sourcing of ingredients, harvesting method, production or packaging.

In addition, these active ingredients are respectful of our health because they replace any ingredient harmful to our body such as parabens, silicones, sulphates, dyes and synthetic fragrances, resulting from petrochemicals. This also makes it possible to promise a composition without extracts of animal origin. For example, pork glycerin is replaced by vegetable glycerin. Apart from ingredients produced naturally by animals such as honey or milk. In addition, organic cosmetics are in most cases also VEGAN (be careful to check the labels and verify that the product you have spotted really is). A VEGAN certified product bans animal testing. To ensure that the product you want to buy is indeed organic, we invite you to refer to independent labels recognized for their impartiality and their high standards: the Cosmebio and Ecocert labels.

 

💡 Appointment HERE for an enlightened understanding of organic, vegan and cruelty-free labels

At Charlotte BIO, all our products are Cosmos Organic certified and Ecocert labeled. But unlike other organic makeup brands, being organic doesn't mean the products won't be pigmented or long-lasting. Thanks to real research and development work and the sourcing of new ingredients and raw materials, today we can guarantee as much pigmentation, long wear and effectiveness as conventional products. For example, test the pigmentation of  our organic bulshes or organic highlighters 

🌱 The guarantee of a clean and transparent composition

Due to its high requirements in terms of formulation and quality, organic cosmetics ban many ingredients from petrochemicals that can be found in conventional cosmetics. Thus, ingredients identified as dangerous having harmful effects on health, which can be involved in the development of certain diseases, are banned. This concerns in particular endocrine disruptors, implicated in the development of certain cancers, or even preservatives such as phenoxyethanol, which would present risks for the hepatic system and the fetus.

In addition, potentially irritating ingredients such as synthetic perfumes, essential oils, detergents such as sodium lauryl sulfate are not compatible with organic cosmetics and are excluded from the Cosmebio charter.

Finally, ingredients that are harmful to the environment, those that have no impact to date but whose long-term harm is unknown, do not correspond to the values ​​of organic cosmetics. For example, all ingredients derived from petrochemicals, whose creation process is fraught with consequences due to their petroleum-based composition, or plastic derivative, and the fact that they are absolutely not biodegradable. The best known are polyethylenes, paraffin, polymers, which are most often used as texturing agents but which do not provide any efficacy to the product.

🌱 Reassuring certificates and quality at the rendezvous

There are many advantages of organic cosmetics. But above all, a true organic cosmetic product is labeled, controlled and must comply with a charter. How to find it?

💡 Appointment HERE for an informed decryption of the labels and certifications to know

These labels allow, among other things, to prove the quality and traceability of the ingredients used in the formulation of products, as well as to ban products harmful to our skin.

The Cosmebio and Ecocert labels are very demanding and ensure the cleanest possible composition. By guaranteeing a minimum of 95% based on ingredients of natural origin, favoring local ingredients (as far as possible) from organic and sustainable agriculture, you are sure of the quality of the products you apply on your skin, your eyes and your mouth, which are, let us not forget, very permeable and sensitive areas.

Natural and organic ingredients and components: what are the advantages? ✅

Conventional makeup tends to attack the skin and suffocate the epidermis. The skin is irritated and dries up or produces more sebum in defense. Why ? Because it is composed of endocrine disrupting silicones such as cyclopentasiloxane, toxic allergic preservatives, carcinogens such as BHT, BHA, parabens, and the icing on the cake of pH correctors such as triethanolamine which produces carcinogenic nitrosamines as close as possible to your mucous membranes. Without forgetting the pigments, dyes and pearlescent agents which allow conventional make-up to hold 36 hours or provide “unparalleled” pigmentation. Obviously, this whole list of petrochemical ingredients smells like petroleum, so manufacturers tend to add carcinogenic synthetic fragrances. It is important to point out that these components are certainly present in synthetic makeup, but that it remains regulated at thresholds considered to be safe, according to current scientific knowledge, which does not guarantee anything in the long term.

So why put up with this on your skin when you can put on make-up thanks to mineral pigments (from precious or semi-precious stones such as cinnabar or azurite) plant ingredients with antioxidant properties, without preservatives and which smell good? while keeping the promise of pigmentation and hold?

Our organic foundation, for example, is made from 100% natural ingredients, and 25% of its ingredients are organic. Insofar as a major part of the product is water, this means that almost all of the cultivable ingredients are cultivated in organic and reasoned agriculture. The little secret of its silky texture that is pleasant to the touch? Aloe vera, which helps fight against aging and hydrates the skin, and magnolia bark extract, an antimicrobial that helps slow the growth of microorganisms on the skin and opposes to the development of microbes. What more ?

 

🌱  The Bio / Not Bio match

 
 

Non-Organic Formula ❌

 


Aqueous phase: water, glycerin of petrochemical origin ...

Fatty phase: fatty acids, mineral oils, silicones, vegetable oils ...

Active ingredients: petrochemical or natural origin

Emulsifier: petrochemical or natural origin

Gelling agent: polymers of petrochemical origin

Preservatives: paraben, phenoxyethanol ...

Perfumes: petrochemical origin

Colorants: petrochemical moose

 

 

Organic Formula ✅

 


Aqueous phase: water, vegetable glycerin, floral waters (rose, cornflower, etc.)

Fat phase: fatty acids, vegetable oils (jojoba, argan ...)

Active ingredients: natural origin (plant extracts, vitamins, etc.)

Emulsifier: natural origin (extracts of oats, wheat, etc.)

Gelling agent: natural origin

Preservatives: restrictive list of authorized ingredients

Perfumes: natural origin

Colorants: natural origin

❌ all irritating and allergenic substances banned

 

 

And in concrete, what does it give?

▶️  our hand cream mains  composed of Mauve Water, known for its calming, emollient and soothing actions on sensitive or irritated skin

▶️  our concealer  our concealer gets its incredible texture from jojoba oil, which is a completely natural ingredient. Thus, no need to add talc, a chemical ingredient present in many conventional makeup products: it replaces it perfectly.

 Organic and natural makeup: what quality? ✅

🌱 The promise of unprecedented quality, sensory textures and ultra-long wear

After many years of research and development, only a few laboratories are therefore able, today, to compete with conventional cosmetics by replacing petrochemicals with natural, healthy products that are at least as efficient and comfortable to wear.
In addition, the organic make-up offer has grown enormously and, in addition to offering healthy and sustainable products, vegetable butters and waxes provide products with melting textures, and Candelilla or Shea extracts offer a delicate scent. and natural. Little more, many brands offer original and well thought out packaging, designed in an eco-responsible way. For example, all of our makeup packaging is made from recyclable cardboard or glass. Regarding our Beauty range, the bottle and tubes are made of PE made from sugar cane. Everything is thought out, controlled and measured to reduce the ecological footprint.

Some brands have also been able to develop their offer by offering complete ranges for all skin tones and offer pigmentation and an iridescent effect as intense and a wide choice of colors as conventional makeup thanks to mineral pigments, ocher earths and stones. crushed. Do you know an organic make-up brand with an irreproachable formulation, which offers a foundation for more than 4 or 5 shades? Yes ! Charlotte BIO! Indeed, when we developed our make-up range, few organic make-up brands offered an organic foundation available in more than 4 or 5 shades. For us, it was inconceivable not to seek to include everyone, and to make healthy products accessible.

By choosing organic, you are opting for sustainable and reasoned consumption. You support meaningful and (as far as possible) local projects. You reduce your impact on the environment and reduce your waste. Indeed, organic references are very strict in terms of quality and eco-responsibility charters, all the superfluous are avoided. Each ingredient must come from nature and be biodegradable, produced with respect for the environment. Green chemistry makes it possible to respect the planet while benefiting from its best resources, thanks to gentle processes.

Ultimately, you spare people, animals and the environment from the harmful effects of harmful chemicals.

Pourquoi choisir la cosmétique bio et vegan ?

Après la lecture de ce guide, vous saurez :  

  • Reconnaître les produits cosmétiques bio ;
  • Connaître les bénéfices et avantages des produits cosmétiques bio.

Cosmétique bio : quelles promesses ? 

Prendre soin de soi est essentiel. C’est une des grandes leçons que nous avons apprises dernièrement. Cela passe par notre environnement, ce que l’on mange et surtout par ce que l’on applique sur notre peau.  

Faire le choix du bio rime avec qualité, naturalité, traçabilité, ingrédients sains et, dans la mesure du possible, locaux. Cependant, par habitude ou méconnaissance des bienfaits du bio sur la peau, de nombreuses femmes ont tendance à le négliger, et à privilégier des produits de cosmétiques conventionnels. Pourtant, la cosmétique bio offre maintenant une gamme de qualité très étoffée et complète, capable de rivaliser avec votre fond de teint chouchou ou votre vernis préféré depuis des années. Elle a de nombreuses vertus et pourrait très vite devenir indispensable à votre routine quotidienne. Explications. 

🌱 Qu'est-ce que la cosmétique bio ?

Un produit cosmétique bio est un produit de beauté fabriqué à partir d’ingrédients naturels tels que les huiles végétales, les huiles essentielles ou bien les cires naturelles, le tout issu en grande partie de l’Agriculture biologique. En privilégiant ces ingrédients plutôt que les actifs chimiques de la cosmétique conventionnelle, la cosmétique bio et naturelle minimise son impact sur la planète, en termes de sourcing d’ingrédients, de méthode de récolte, de production ou de packaging.

De plus, ces actifs sont respectueux de notre santé car ils remplacent tout ingrédient nocif pour notre corps tel que les parabènes, les silicones, sulfates, colorants et parfums de synthèse, issus de la pétrochimie. Cela permet aussi de promettre une composition sans extraits d’origine animale. Par exemple la glycérine de porc est remplacée par la glycérine végétale. Hormis les ingrédients produits naturellement par les animaux comme le miel ou le lait. De plus, la cosmétique bio, est dans la majeure partie des cas également VEGAN (attention à bien contrôler les labels et à vérifier que le produit que vous avez repéré l’est vraiment). Un produit certifié VEGAN bannit les tests sur les animaux. Pour s’assurer que le produit que vous souhaitez acheter est bel et bien bio, nous vous invitons à vous référer aux labels indépendants et reconnus pour leur impartialité et leur exigence : les labels Cosmebio et Ecocert.

💡 Rdv ICI pour un décryptage éclairé des labels bio, vegan et cruelty-free 

Chez Charlotte BIO, tous nos produits sont certifiés Cosmos Organic et labellisés Ecocert. Mais contrairement à d’autres marques de maquillage bio, le fait d’être bio, ne veut pas dire que les produits ne seront pas pigmentés ou longue-tenue. Grâce à un vrai travail de recherche et développement et des sourcings d’ingrédients et de matières premières inédits, nous pouvons aujourd’hui garantir autant de pigmentation, de longue tenue et d’efficacité que les produits conventionnels. Testez par exemple la pigmentation de nos blushs bio ou de nos highlighters bio 

🌱 La garantie d'une composition clean, et transparente

Du fait de ses exigences hautes en termes de formulation et de qualité, la cosmétique bio bannit de nombreux ingrédients issus de la pétrochimie que l’on peut retrouver dans la cosmétique conventionnelle. Ainsi, sont bannis les ingrédients identifiés comme dangereux ayant des effets néfastes sur la santé, qui peuvent être impliqués dans le développement de certaines maladies. Ceci concerne notamment les perturbateurs endocriniens, mis en cause dans le développement de certains cancers, ou bien les conservateurs tels que le phénoxyéthanol, qui présenteraient des risques pour le système hépatique et le fœtus. 

De plus, les ingrédients potentiellement irritants comme les parfums synthétiques, les huiles essentielles, les agents détergents tels que le sodium lauryl sulfate ne sont pas compatibles avec la cosmétique bio et sont exclus de la charte Cosmebio.

Enfin, les ingrédients nocifs pour l’environnement, ceux qui n’ont pas d’impact à ce jour mais dont les méfaits à long terme sont méconnus, ne correspondent pas aux valeurs de la cosmétique bio. Par exemple, tous les ingrédients dérivés de la pétrochimie, dont le processus de création est lourd de conséquences du fait de leur composition à base de pétrole, ou de dérivé de plastique, et le fait qu’ils ne soient absolument pas biodégradables. Les plus connus sont les polyéthylènes, la paraffine, les polymères, qui sont le plus souvent utilisés comme agents de texture mais qui n’apportent aucune efficacité au produit.

🌱 Des certificats rassurants et une qualité au rendez-vous

Nombreux sont les avantages de la cosmétique bio. Mais avant tout, un véritable produit cosmétique Bio est labélisé, contrôlé et doit respecter une charte. Comment s’y retrouver ?

💡 Rdv ICI pour un décryptage éclairé des labels et certifications à connaître

Ces labels permettent entre autres, de prouver la qualité et la traçabilité des ingrédients utilisés dans la formulation des produits, ainsi que de bannir les produits nocifs pour notre peau. 

Les labels Cosmebio et Ecocert sont très exigeants et permettent d’assurer la composition la plus clean possible. En garantissant un minimum de 95% à base d’ingrédients d’origine naturelle, en privilégiant des ingrédients locaux (dans la mesure du possible) issus de l’agriculture biologique et durable, vous êtes sûr de la qualité des produits que vous appliquez sur votre peau, vos yeux et votre bouche, qui sont, ne l’oublions pas des zones très perméables et sensibles.  

Ingrédients et composants naturels et bio : quels avantages ? 

Le maquillage conventionnel a tendance à agresser la peau et étouffer l’épiderme. La peau est irritée et s’assèche ou produit davantage de sébum en défense. Pourquoi ? Car il est composé de silicones perturbateurs endocriniens comme le cyclopentasiloxane, de conservateurs allergiques toxiques, cancérigènes comme le BHT, le BHA, les parabènes, et cerise sur le gâteau de correcteurs de pH comme le triethanolamine qui produit des nitrosamines cancérigènes au plus près de vos muqueuses. Sans oublier les pigments, colorants et nacres qui permettent au maquillage conventionnel une tenue de 36h ou une pigmentation “inégalée”. Évidemment, toute cette liste d’ingrédients issus de la pétrochimie sent le pétrole, alors les industriels ont tendance à ajouter des parfums synthétiques cancérigènes. Il est important de préciser que certes, ces composants sont présents dans le maquillage synthétique, mais qu’il reste réglementé à des seuils jugés sans risques, d’après les connaissances actuelles des scientifiques, ne garantissant rien sur le long terme.   

Alors pourquoi faire endurer cela à sa peau lorsque l’on peut se maquiller grâce à des pigments minéraux (issus de pierres précieuses ou semi-précieuses comme le cinabre ou l’azurite) des ingrédients végétaux aux vertus antioxydantes, sans conservateurs et qui sentent bon tout en gardant la promesse de la pigmentation et de la tenue ? 

Notre fond de teint bio par exemple, est composé à 100% d’ingrédients naturels, et 25% de ses ingrédients sont bio. Dans la mesure où une majeure partie du produit est de l’eau, cela veut dire que la quasi-totalité des ingrédients cultivables le sont dans une agriculture biologique et raisonnée. Le petit secret de sa texture si soyeuse et agréable au toucher ? L’aloe vera, qui permet de lutter contre le vieillissement de la peau et qui l’hydrate, et l’extrait d’écorce de magnolia, un antimicrobien qui aide à ralentir la croissance de micro-organismes sur la peau et s'oppose au développement des microbes. Que demander de plus ? 

 

🌱 Le match Bio / Pas Bio

Formule Non-Bio ❌

Phase aqueuse : eau, glycérine d'origine pétrochimique...

Phase grasse : acides gras, huiles minérales, silicones, huiles végétales...

Actifs : origine pétrochimique ou naturelle

Emulsionnant : origine pétrochimique ou naturelle

Gélifiant : polymères d'origine pétrochimiques

Conservateurs : paraben, phénoxyéthanol...

Parfums : origine pétrochimique

Colorants : orignie pétrochimique

 

 Formule Bio ✅

Phase aqueuse : eau, glycérine végétale, eaux florales (rose, bleuet...)

Phase grasse : acides gras, huiles végétales (jojoba, argan...)

Actifs : origine naturelle (extraits végétaux, vitamines...)

Emulsionnant : origine naturelle (extraits d'avoine, de blé...)

Gélifiant : origine naturelle

Conservateurs : liste restrictive d'ingrédients autorisés

Parfums : origine naturelle

Colorants : origine naturelle

❌  toutes substances irritante et allergisante bannies

 

Et en concret, ça donne quoi ?

▶️  notre crème mains est composée d’Eau de Mauve, reconnue pour ses actions calmantes, émollientes et apaisantes sur les peaux sensibles ou irritées

▶️  notre correcteur lui tient son incroyable texture de l’huile de jojoba, qui est un ingrédient totalement naturel. Ainsi, pas besoin d’ajouter de talc, ingrédient chimique présent dans beaucoup de produits de maquillages conventionnels : il le remplace à merveille.

Maquillage bio et naturel : quelle qualité ? 

🌱 La promesse d'une qualité inédite, de textures sensorielles et d'une tenue ultra longue 

Après de nombreuses années de recherche et de développement, seulement quelques laboratoires sont donc capables, aujourd’hui, de rivaliser avec la cosmétique conventionnelle en remplaçant la pétrochimie par des produits naturels, sains, au moins aussi performants et agréables à porter.
De plus, l’offre de maquillage biologique s’est énormément développée et, en plus de proposer des produits sains et durables, les beurres et cires végétaux offrent aux produits des textures fondantes, et les extraits de Candelilla ou de Karité offrent une odeur délicate et naturelle. Petit plus, de nombreuses marques proposent des packagings originaux et bien pensés, conçus de façon éco-responsable. Par exemple, tous nos packagings maquillage sont en carton recyclable ou en verre. Concernant notre gamme Beauty, le flacon et les tubes sont fabriqués en PE issus de canne à sucre. Tout est pensé, contrôlé et mesuré pour réduire l'empreinte écologique.

Certaines marques ont également pu développer leur offre en proposant des gammes complètes pour toutes carnations et proposent une pigmentation et un effet irisé aussi intense et un large choix de couleurs qu’un maquillage conventionnel grâce aux pigments minéraux, aux terres d’ocres et de pierres broyées. Connaissez-vous une marque de make-up bio avec une formulation irréprochable, qui propose un fond de teint pour plus de 4 ou 5 teintes ? Oui ! Charlotte BIO ! En effet, lorsque nous avons développé notre gamme make-up, peu de marques de make-up bio proposaient un fond de teint bio déclinable en plus de 4 ou 5 teintes. Pour nous, il était inconcevable de ne pas chercher à inclure tout le monde, et rendre accessible des produits sains. 

En choisissant le Bio, vous optez pour une consommation durable et raisonnée. Vous soutenez des projets ayant du sens et (dans la mesure du possible) locaux. Vous réduisez votre impact sur l’environnement et réduisez vos déchets. En effet, les référencements bio sont très stricts en matière de chartes de qualité et d’éco-responsabilité, tous les superflus sont évités. Chaque ingrédient se doit d’être issu de la nature et d’être biodégradable, produit dans le respect de l’environnement. La chimie verte permet de respecter la planète tout en bénéficiant de ses meilleures ressources, grâce à des procédés doux. 

Finalement, vous épargnez les Hommes, les animaux et l’environnement des effets néfastes des produits chimiques nocifs.